Babarajaba (Digital Download Audio CD)

Wula Downloads: Your order confirmation will include a link to download the album tracks. Contact Us if you have any questions or technical difficulties.

Produced by Michael Pluznick
Audio CD: 13 Tracks

Click the links to hear samples:

  1. Trilogy
  2. Marineiro
  3. Evolution
  4. Chandra Shekar
  5. Soko La Bata
  6. Rumba De Obatala
  7. Axe
  8. Dance of Damballah
  9. Afrique De Jeneiro
  10. Abarumbaninkum
  11. Escalier
  12. Unity
  13. Rise Up


The Hawaii-based percussion collective Barabajaba have produced an album that is both exceptional and deeply innovative. The interweaving of soulful grooves and intriguing melodic vocals highlight the connection between ancient rhythmic themes and modern interpretations.

“Rise Up” is thirteen tracks of truly inspiring cross cultural percussion arrangements showcasing the seasoned musicality of percussionists/producers Michael Pluznick and Jesse Seymour. Smooth transitions and clever orchestration add a melodic sense to these ancient rhythms.

This album presents an all star cast of vocalists including Peter De Jesus, Puerto Rican born Priest of Santeria, veteran San Francisco Bay Area percussionist/vocalist Yagbe Onilu and the sensuous voice of up and coming diva Zahira. In addition the vocal work of Jesse Seymour and Boaz Martin add ever more diversity to this exciting album giving a unique atmosphere to each track.

“Rise Up” features a myriad of percussion instruments such as the Surdo(Brasilian Bass Drum), Djembe, Dunduns and Bougaraboo of West Africa, Congas, Timbales and of course the mystic sound of the Bata drums of Cuba.

This CD is a must have for everyone and is an invitation to move your body and shake your soul.

Link to musicians bios, etc:

Collections: $0-$20, All, All Media, Under 500

Pin It

Related Items